Merry Christmas, Blog-style

group shot silly

Merry Christmas from the Thompsons of Iowa! And from what appears to be our least Grinchy Christmas yet. Ridiculous as it sounds, we had our tree up and decorated long before Thanksgiving. I blame the delight of toddlers, which often overrides the cynicism of grown ups.

As I write this, we are watching another Christmas movie as a family. Confession, it’s not my favorite. Netflix’s kids has captivated my children with classics like Trolls’ Holiday Special and Curious George Christmas. But hey, these films are allowing me to blog. Right now we’re watching Disney’s “Twice Upon a Christmas,” and the best part is the narration by Kelsey Grammar, in my opinion.

In the midst of these sub-par films, I’m enjoying the underlying message of most of them: that this time of year is about giving; being generous, and thoughtful towards others. (At least the Disney stuff, I can’t really speak for the Trolls.)

It’s hard not to get caught up in what Biblical Scholar Richard Horsley calls “a festival of consumption,” but even so, even some of our holiday extravagance must be a reflection of God’s lavish love. At least that’s what I’m banking on, as I survey dismantled packages and wrapping paper carnage sprawled all across our floor.

So Merry Christmas to you and yours from us and ours. May the time with family and friends be a reflection of all that we anticipated in the weeks of Advent: Hope, Peace, Joy, and Love.

And if it’s not, well, don’t give up. There’s always Boxing Day tomorrow.

Thanks for Reading.

Leave a comment